Permission to Die

When a patient lingers near death and the family gathers at bedside, it is important for someone to give the patient permission to die.

Someone who is dying can hang onto life for many reasons. The focus of one’s thoughts, even near death, is a powerful force. Telling the patient that it is okay to die helps them to let go of life.

Even if the patient is non-responsive, permission is needed. Remember, the hearing is the last sense to shut down. As permission is given and death approaches, the control of the transition from this life is out of our hands.

As the last breath of life is taken, there are no words to describe the feeling that comes over the room. For a moment, one can almost see the “Hand of God.”

From the first breath of life to the last, like the dash on a tombstone, the journey through life is precious. There is only so much time given, no more…no less. We must make the best of each day, as if it were our last; someday it will be.

 

6 responses to “Permission to Die

  1. I was a hospice volunteer for a number of years….your post is all too hauntingly familiar.
    Good job.

  2. I had this experience with my grandmother over the phone. The doctor told my parents (who were with her) that after hearing what I told her on the phone she seemed to feel at peace and let herself go.

  3. A very touching post… *snif* Thanks for sharing

  4. I can not think of any better or more peaceful than the love of God when He calls us back.
    It is for this reason that I do not fear death,,it will be what I have been waiting for all my life.
    When the time is ripe the Lord will call and I shall willingly go….

  5. I remember giving my mother permission to die. I still miss her. God has helped me to realize since then that death of a physical life isn’t the only thing that needs such permission but also some existing strugglig relationships, hopefully to allow growth so that something new can be experienced.

  6. I was with my grandfather when he breathed his last. He died of throat cancer. He couldnt talk anymore but it was obvious that he was still fighting for life. I guess, he was still fighting because we werent ready to let him go.

Leave a Reply

