If Only…

All too often, after someone close dies, the “If only” starts moving in. “If only I would have told him…”, “If only I would have…”, “If only…If only…If only…”.

In most situations and with most people involved, I believe living and loving is played out to the best one could do at the time. Re-running any situation in our minds will always make us question if we could have done better.

At times, there is room for improvement, for living and learning and I think it is safe to say that we do. The rub comes in when we find ourselves striving for perfection. I have news…perfection isn’t going to happen…but striving for it creates the “If only.”

We live and love with imperfection…we do the best we know how at the time…we love with all that we have. No one is loved because they are perfect and we are not perfect because we love. Let go of “If only” and let the love that you give be imperfect…it’s not how well you loved, but that you loved.

 

4 responses to “If Only…

  1. I have so many “if only’s”, thank you for this beautiful post.

  2. No one is loved because they’re perfect and no one is perfect because they love. Music to my ears, Bonnie.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

  3. Hi Bonnie: I’ve nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award (http://peace4me521.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/super-sweet-blogging-award/).

  4. Amen to letting go of “if only!” Ironically I referred to this in the my post this morning, “Overcoming Regrets.” Thanks for the confirmation!

Leave a Reply

