Dare I Grieve

~~~

Dare I grieve for you this long?

When others say, I should move on.

Hopeless is my love for you,

So, I shall grieve my whole life long.

 ~

It doesn’t count, what others think,

My grief for you is mine alone.

They cannot tell me what to do,

So, I shall grieve my whole life through.

 ~~~

 Copyright © 2013 All Rights Reserved

4 responses to “Dare I Grieve

  1. It galls my wife to no end when someone tells her (or another bereaved mother for that matter) that she should move on. Only the person going through the fire knows when the time is right to reduce the flame to a candle. I don’t think it EVER goes out…nor would I want it to.

  2. So beautifully written, Bonnie, and spot-on!!! Having just passed the eleventh anniversary of Jason’s death, I know that I will grieve his loss my whole life, no matter what anyone else thinks or says. He is my son, one that I carried close to my heart before he was born and in my heart forever now that he’s gone. Thank you for sharing this beautiful poem. Hugs, hugs, hugs to you.

  3. Your poem touched me on a very personal level as the days approach a dreaded and somber anniversary. As a mother, grief is not measured in time but in the quiet of the nights that do not end.

  4. Grief has no rules. Mine and your griefs are different, because each of our loves were different. That’s just the way it is. Your poem is right on target.

Leave a Reply

