Not Knowing What to Say

~~~

What do you say to a family when they are suffering through a death or when they are remembering a birthday, anniversary or other event in their life?

Believe me, there are no words. Your concern is what speaks to them and that will come across no matter what you say. Caring goes beyond any words.

Do not let “not knowing what to say” stand in the way of showing someone how much you care. Do not let a “loss for words” keep you from showing concern.

~~~

2 responses to “Not Knowing What to Say

  1. I used to think toting food to the bereaved home was silly until my husband died. Now I realize a green bean casserole or three pounds of coffee just says without words, “I’m so sorry, and I love you.” That’s enough.

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss is all that is necessary for the grieving person to understand the feeling of compassion. But for some they feel compelled to go into a long diatribe of “I know how you feel, I lost a ……, once. One person even said they knew how hard it is to lose someone – she had lost a favorite pet once.

    God bless you and your work.

Leave a Reply

