Beyond Anything I Could Have Imagined

DSCN1413When I began Memory Bears, my hope was to be able to help someone in their grief. My own son was dying from cancer. I was experiencing what it’s like to lose a child. I remember when Jon picked out the clothing he wanted me to use for his bears. He told me who would get each bear. Memory Bears was taking on a whole new depth. I never imagined making bears for my son’s death.

Through my tears, I created Jon’s Bears and many others since then. I always talk to someone from the grieving family when a request for memory bears is made. I want their grief to spill over into my heart because the bears I create for them will be made from my heart. I want to know something about the loved one that this bear will honor.

What I didn’t foresee was the effect each Memory Bear would have on the families. I knew the size of the bear was just right for hugging. I knew the personal clothing would be a comfort to see and feel. What I didn’t realize was the depth the therapeutic effect would have. With my own eyes and from the comments of family members, I have witnessed the effect the Memory Bears have beyond anything I could have imagined.

3 responses to “Beyond Anything I Could Have Imagined

  1. This truly is an amazing ministry and blessing to so many. I really admire the way you put yourself into the work done by your hands, but also include a piece of your heart. It really is something special. ox

  2. God has a perfect way of doing so much more than we could ever imagine or hope for!

  3. David’s Bear sits up at the top right of this page, Bonnie. His best friend’s bear sits beneath, Roger’s Bear. And Chuck’s Bear is below him.

    My friend and I can’t talk without the bears being a part of the conversation, because they are such a big part of our lives.

    We can’t thank you enough for your mission of love. For the priceless gift you have given to us.

    blessings ~ maxi

Leave a Reply

